Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northfield, MN
    Posts
    304

    Approximation Symbol

    Does anyone know how to make an approximation symbol in Chief? I know that the informal way to do it is this symbol "~" But I was wondering if you could make the correct symbol some how. Thanks
    Caleb Morisette
    Architectural Drafter
    CA 10.08

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    3,069
    Do you mean the Tilde? I'm not sure how to make it on the keyboard via typing. This is just copied/pasted from here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northfield, MN
    Posts
    304
    That is the symbol that I am looking for but when I copy and paste it into the text box in chief it comes out as "~" So I am not sure how to get it to work. Thanks Chris.
    Caleb Morisette
    Architectural Drafter
    CA 10.08

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    3,069
    Chief is weird like that sometimes...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northfield, MN
    Posts
    304
    I have found that out in the year that I have been using Chief. I guess it will just have to be the informal way then. Unless anyone else has any ideas. Thanks
    Caleb Morisette
    Architectural Drafter
    CA 10.08

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,066
    Go to the Character Map in Windows, and copy paste from there ≈ . It will be about two thirds of the way down on the character map (Programs>Accessories>System Tools>Character Map)
    George VanDusen, CPBD, CKD, CID
    Phoenix Construction
    www.phoenixconstruction.com
    Contr. Lic. #268157

    HOUZZ link: http://www.houzz.com/professionals/s...cramento%2C-CA

    -Certified Professional Building Designer
    -Certified Kitchen Designer
    -Certified Interior Designer
    -Engineering Contractor
    -Building Contractor
    -Plumbing Contractor
    Since 1971

    Chief X4, X5

    MOBO ASUS Rampage III Black Ed.
    PROC Intel Core i7-990X 4.22 GHz
    MEMORY 12 GB Corsair
    GRAPHICS ASUS GTX 590 3GB, Dual-GPU
    MAIN DRIVE OCZ 480GB SSD.
    STORAGE OCZ 960GB SSD.
    OS Win7 Pro 64 bit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    3,069
    Quote Originally Posted by PhoenixConstruction
    Go to the Character Map in Windows, and copy paste from there ≈ . It will be about two thirds of the way down on the character map (Programs>Accessories>System Tools>Character Map)

    [SIZE="2"] [/SIZE]yep there it is.

    Since it's on the Character map - there should be a shortcut key stroke for it...like ATL1956 [SIZE="1"](or something)[/SIZE] using the keypad rather than the normal keyboard numbers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northfield, MN
    Posts
    304
    George,

    Thanks, I found it in the character map but Chief still only makes it a single one. Thanks for the help.
    Caleb Morisette
    Architectural Drafter
    CA 10.08

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northfield, MN
    Posts
    304
    Chris,

    How would you figure out what the shortcut key stroke is?
    Caleb Morisette
    Architectural Drafter
    CA 10.08

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    3,069
    it should show on your character map if there is a shortcut...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	untitled.JPG 
Views:	739 
Size:	79.0 KB 
ID:	20679  
    Last edited by ChiefChris; 01-17-2008 at 07:51 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northfield, MN
    Posts
    304
    That doesn't work, oh well not a big deal I was just hoping that it would work. It will just have to be the informal way I guess. Thanks to both of you.
    Caleb Morisette
    Architectural Drafter
    CA 10.08

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Georgetown, MA, USA
    Posts
    1,219
    In a regular word document (that is a document in MSWord) and you type in 2248 and then pres Alt and x it will change to this symbol. But if you copy that symbol to the text box in CA and close the text box it comes out as a single line not the double line.....
    Jim Rogers
    Jim Rogers Timber Designs
    Georgetown, MA, USA
    email: jrsawmill@verizon.net
    V9.54-V10.08a-VX1.5.4.17-VX2-VX3-VX4-VX5

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    4,044
    Quote Originally Posted by lurcher85
    That doesn't work, oh well not a big deal I was just hoping that it would work. It will just have to be the informal way I guess. Thanks to both of you.
    Caleb,

    If you are using the shortcuts, you have to use the numeric keyboard. The numbers along the top of the keyboard won't work.
    Glenn

    Chief X5
    www.glennwoodward.com.au

    Windows 7 - Home Premium
    Intel i7-920
    Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R
    6 Gb DDR3 1600MHz
    EVGA GTX285 1GbDDR3
    1TB Sata HD

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    201
    Different fonts have diff character map. You should use the one corresponding to what font u are using.
    Frank

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Conyers,Georgia
    Posts
    433
    David Noble
    Commonwealth Designs
    Ph: 678-562-2124
    Fax: 678-935-0451
    david@cwdesigners.net

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • Login or Register to post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •