Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    No. Smithfield, RI
    Posts
    6

    connecting garage to house? (roof)

    I am trying to connect a two story house to a single story garage. Both gables are facing you. I can't get the garage roof to form an adjacent roof line to attach to the side of house.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Conyers,Georgia
    Posts
    433
    Can you post a pic, I think I have an idea what you are asking but a pic would help.
    David Noble
    Commonwealth Designs
    Ph: 678-562-2124
    Fax: 678-935-0451
    david@cwdesigners.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    7,619
    Check the fascia heights and roof overhng distance.
    Tommy Blair
    Houston, TX.
    (713) 467-0579
    tblair55@sbcglobal.net
    Avid Chief User V8-X5
    Lead Houston User's Group
    HP Dv7t Quad Edition Laptop
    W7 Home Premium, 64-Bit
    2nd Gen. Intel Quad Core i7-2720QM 2.2 GHz (turbo boost to 3.3 GHz)
    1GB Radeon HD 6770M GDDR5
    8GB DDR3 System Memory, 640GB 7200rpm Hard Drive
    (2) 2.0 ports, (2) 3.0 ports
    17.3" Monitor (1600x900)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    No. Smithfield, RI
    Posts
    6

    front elevation

    thank you for your reply I am attaching a front elevation.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dave L front elev_p.jpg 
Views:	587 
Size:	2.2 KB 
ID:	6797  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cheney, Washington
    Posts
    1,556
    use invisible wall and it should build automatically

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    No. Smithfield, RI
    Posts
    6
    I still can't get the garage roof to connect to house wall.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Posts
    4,311
    I can't see your picture very well. It's too small on my screen. If you are wanting a walk thru between the house and garage, in the attached picture, invisible walls were used to form a room definition between the two. Make sure the room definition has a roof above. Should build automatically as Neal stated above.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	House.jpg 
Views:	210 
Size:	53.1 KB 
ID:	6820
    Cliff
    X6

    Vista Home Premium SP-2
    Gateway FX6800-01e
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
    7.00 GB RAM DDR 3........64-bit OS
    NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250/PCIe/SSE2 1024 MB Memory

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    No. Smithfield, RI
    Posts
    6
    The garage is connected by a typical outside house wall with no breezeway, a door is in the garage. I used create gable/roof line to get the roof but it isn't recognized.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Posts
    4,311
    Quote Originally Posted by shcmarc2
    The garage is connected by a typical outside house wall with no breezeway, a door is in the garage. I used create gable/roof line to get the roof but it isn't recognized.
    When you say the garage is connected by "a" typical outside house wall, are you meaning just one wall? Are you not forming a room definition between the house and garage, so you can have a roof above? It might would be helpful to post a picture of the portion of the plan you're working on.
    Cliff
    X6

    Vista Home Premium SP-2
    Gateway FX6800-01e
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
    7.00 GB RAM DDR 3........64-bit OS
    NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250/PCIe/SSE2 1024 MB Memory

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    No. Smithfield, RI
    Posts
    6
    Cliff, the house is a two story with no windows on the attaching garage side. My problem is the two roof lines are facing you, I need to have the attaching roof line form two valleys with the ridge line perpendicular to the house and garage. I'm trying to post a picture.
    Marc.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kamiah, Idaho
    Posts
    4,206
    Just draw a couple of roof planes - one on the front side of the house and one on the back side - with the ridgle line perpendicular to the front walls of house and garage. Make sure the fascia height and/or baseline heights are the same as your garage. I don't know what your ridge height will be because you haven't been clear as to what the depth of the connection between house and garage is. If the distance from the front of your house to the back of the wall that is common to the house and garage is less than the width of the front of the garage, then the ridge of the connecting roof planes between house and garage will be lower than the ridge of the garage. Then, you should be able to manually connect these two roof planes with the garage roof plane facing the house. It may be easier to create a "V" with the garage roof plane facing the house for this to work. Without knowing what dimensions you are working with you may run into the situation where you can't connect the roof planes without going past zero (or however the msg is worded). If you can show us your floor plan it will be easier to explain how to do what you need to do.
    Curt Johnson

    X5

    Puget Systems Custom Computer, Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1, 3.3Ghz Intel Core i5 2500K Quad, 8 GB Kingston DDR3-1333 Ram, Intel X25-M 80 GB SSD App Drive, WD 500 GB Caviar Blue SATA 6 Gb/s Data Drive, EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024MB VC, Antec 650W PS, Asus p8P67 Pro REV 3.0 Motherboard

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bergenfield,NJ
    Posts
    1,840

    Garage

    Is this what you mean?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2 story+garage.jpg 
Views:	169 
Size:	65.7 KB 
ID:	6847  
    Doug Michel
    General Contractor
    Design & Build, New Jersey
    Windows 7... 64 Bit,
    X6 Build 16.1.1.9 X64 w/SSA
    X5 Build 15.2.1.3 X64 w/SSA
    X4 Build 14.3.2.2 X64 w/SSA
    X3 Build 13.4.2.7 w/SSA
    X2 Build 12.6.0.25 w/SSA
    X1,V10,V9
    Sketch Up Pro 8
    AutoCad 2014
    Adobe CS6 Design Premium
    A Pool Cue , a Harley, a Hammer & a Camera
    Good Isn't Enough... When Better is Possible.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kamiah, Idaho
    Posts
    4,206

    Talking Garage Roof

    This is actually what I think you are trying to do. I incorrectly said for the connecting roof planes' ridge to be perpendicular when in fact it is parallel as shown.Attachment 6848

    Attachment 6849

    Attachment 6850

    I tried to auto build this roof but I couldn't get the garage roof planes to come out right so I manually completed the garage roof although the roof over the house automatically built OK. I am not sure what I have going on with the 2nd floor walls - I couldn't get them to close up. Like I mentioned in my earlier post, the dimensions of your plan will dictate how the connecting roof planes will come together. Hope this helps.
    Last edited by Curtis Johnson; 07-19-2006 at 04:05 PM.
    Curt Johnson

    X5

    Puget Systems Custom Computer, Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1, 3.3Ghz Intel Core i5 2500K Quad, 8 GB Kingston DDR3-1333 Ram, Intel X25-M 80 GB SSD App Drive, WD 500 GB Caviar Blue SATA 6 Gb/s Data Drive, EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024MB VC, Antec 650W PS, Asus p8P67 Pro REV 3.0 Motherboard

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kamiah, Idaho
    Posts
    4,206
    Does anyone see what else is needed on the roof as I have displayed it in my previous post?
    Curt Johnson

    X5

    Puget Systems Custom Computer, Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1, 3.3Ghz Intel Core i5 2500K Quad, 8 GB Kingston DDR3-1333 Ram, Intel X25-M 80 GB SSD App Drive, WD 500 GB Caviar Blue SATA 6 Gb/s Data Drive, EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024MB VC, Antec 650W PS, Asus p8P67 Pro REV 3.0 Motherboard

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bergenfield,NJ
    Posts
    1,840
    Lower the Cricket, keep ridge at same elevation as Garage or lower......for looks sake, I'd lower it.
    Doug Michel
    General Contractor
    Design & Build, New Jersey
    Windows 7... 64 Bit,
    X6 Build 16.1.1.9 X64 w/SSA
    X5 Build 15.2.1.3 X64 w/SSA
    X4 Build 14.3.2.2 X64 w/SSA
    X3 Build 13.4.2.7 w/SSA
    X2 Build 12.6.0.25 w/SSA
    X1,V10,V9
    Sketch Up Pro 8
    AutoCad 2014
    Adobe CS6 Design Premium
    A Pool Cue , a Harley, a Hammer & a Camera
    Good Isn't Enough... When Better is Possible.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • Login or Register to post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •