Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Which product is best for me?

I'm planning to build a house on a lot I've recently purchased. I'd like to design the house myself or pick one online and make minor modifications to. Is CA (in general) product line the correct software for my use case? If i purchase CAD files from one of the many house plan Websites will I be able to import into CA and mess with them?

Assuming I get pretty good with the software and would like to actually build constructions drawings (perhaps with some help from a professional), will CA allow me to do this?

Should I go with CA architecture, pro or premier?

Looks like Suite is 100 bucks on amazon and architecture is ~170, and premier is ~2k+. If not CA, what other software would you recommend.

BTW, i have very little CAD experience. I do software engineering for a living.

Thanks in advance,
    -Sonny

Quote Originally Posted by sonnyh View Post
    I'm planning to build a house on a lot I've recently purchased. I'd like to design the house myself or pick one online and make minor modifications to. Is CA (in general) product line the correct software for my use case? If i purchase CAD files from one of the many house plan Websites will I be able to import into CA and mess with them?

Answer: Yes, but you will need some know-how to work with the CAD files, in order to use them to build a Chief model. And you want full-bore Chief Premier for this, for the reason shown below.

Assuming I get pretty good with the software and would like to actually build constructions drawings (perhaps with some help from a professional), will CA allow me to do this?

Answer: Yes, Chief Premier will permit you to do complete construction documents. Everything required for plans review and permitting, except that depending on your locale, a professional may have to produce and sign and seal the drawings.

Should I go with CA architecture, pro or premier?

Answer: Premier.