Thread: X6 help

UnHappy X6 help

OK, I dragged my feet, but finally upgraded to X6 (after reading posts, I skipped X5). I've been using Home Designer Pro 7 (HP7) since it came out (2007).

Obviously I've encountered a new behavior at every turn... I totally understand some things are going to be different- and they should be different-"more efficient", not different- "more difficult & time consuming". I'm on my 3rd new project with X6, and I just have to field my thoughts in hope I'm missing something, maybe settings I can tweak on some of this stuff.

#1 - Dimensions behave in odd ways. I have auto-exterior dimensions set to go to wall-centers, which works fine, BUT manual end-to-end measurements should go where you aim the mouse, preferably a wall-edge somewhere- but I can't... they will go to the wall-centers ONLY. So I must manually grab the dimension and put the ends where I intended them the first time.

#2 - When I select a door, the auto-temp dimensions that pop up measure to the wall-centers & exterior wall-surface (veneer). First, I don't think anything should ever measure to the veneer- but rather the main-layer. Second, I don't care what the door to center of the wall measurement is, but rather to the next wall surface.