bkbw is offline Registered User Promoted

chief vs. 20-20 Design

I've been using Chief Architect for almost one year. I am a kitchen designer and I do
    high-end, highly customized kitchen designs. I've found Chief beneficial, but difficult to do
    more technical, custom cabinets. It's good for a 3d picture, but not as convenient as Auto cad
    for shop, detail drawings.
    I still have a lot to learn, but I'm wondering if I should switch to 20-20 Design. It's more money,
    but it seems to be geared more towards kitchen design. Does anyone out there know the benefits of
    one to the other?

My understanding is that 20-20 is really a Cabinet Design and Detailing Product. If you need to produce shop drawings for the cabinets then that's probably a tool you should have in your bag. OTOH, if you work with quality Cabinet Shops then you can let them produce whatever drawings and CNC output that they need themselves. I know several custom shops that have 20-20 or Cabinet Vision.

As an Architect I always design the Kitchen and Baths myself. I provide enough detail to show the Cabinet Shop what I want but the Shop Drawings, etc are provided by the Shop.
    Joseph P. Carrick, Architect - AIA
    ASUS M51AC Desktop, core i7-4770 CPU @3.4 GHZ, 16 GB Ram, NVidea GT640 with60M with 3GB GM, 30" HiRes (2560/1600) Monitor , (2) 24" ASUS Monitors
    Windows 8.1
    Chief Architect 9, 10, X1, X3, X4 Premium, X5 Premium, X6 Premium

the majority of the design work we do is custom kitchens and my experience is similar to Joe's. My cabinet shop always does their own drawings. Unless you use an actual cabinet construction software, you're drawings are only good as a basic representation to most custom cabinet shops. And I believe 20-20 is NOT a good tool for custom cabinet design. 20-20's real strength is in its connection with manufacturer catalogs. Unless you're purchasing cabinets from one of those manufacturers, I think Chief is a much better bet.
    Michael