additing a second floor on a garage seperate from the house

Hi All,

I have house that I have modeled and am now working on the detached garage. I would like to add a 2nd floor to the garage but I already have a second floor on the house and when I go to add floor I it wants to add a 3rd floor to the house. Any way to just add a floor to the garage? Thank you in advance

Model the Garage in another Plan File, and use a symbol version of the garage in the House plan file.
    Kind Regards,
    Dave Pitman

Current Version: X5
    System
    Win-7 64 bit
    Intel i7 930 (2.8 ghz x 4)
    Nvidia gtx 260 (1 gb ram)
    12 gb ddr3 ram

Can I still get into the garage and edit it after I do that. I'm new to the software how would I make the garage a symbol? Thanks for the quick response Dave. Will te symbol display the floor plans or just the exterior foot print?

Draw the second floor for the garage on level 2 (the same level as the house) and manually adjust the room heights/floor settings etc by opening the room specifications of the garage/new room.
    Matt Taylor
    Newcastle NSW Australia

Chief X5
    Intel i7-2670QM 2.20GHz
    8GB Ram
    1GB GEForce GT555M
    Win7 64-Bit

I suggest you model both in same plan. You do not have to add floor to garage, it is already there. Just draw the walls on level 2 for garage second floor.
    D. Scott Hall (The Bridge Troll)
    San Diego, Ca.
    Chief X-5 w/ Win 7
    Asus P6T X58 ATX Core i7
    Intel Core i7 920
    6GB (3X2) DDR3 1600
    NVIDIA GeForce 580 GTX

The videos we watch are not 100% gold, but if we find a gold nugget, the time spent viewing has a value.

We can please some of the people some of the time, but we can't please all the people all of the time..... but I will keep trying.

If you are interested in keeping abreast of any new videos, please subscribe to my channel at YOUTUBE...... channel is ds hall