Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Total wall area question

I am a novice user, working on a remodel of three story condo.
    I would like to know if there is a way for CA to produce the total amount of wall surface area, either by room or by floor? Some of the rooms will have wallpaper, some paint, and I was hoping to be able to easily see the total surface area SF, versus having to measure all the walls by hand and do the math.
    Thanks for any help here.

Long Answer - it can be done -- but not practical
    BECAUSE -- objects in Chief do not have descriptive ID's, nor are they persistent, at least, in the Ruby script engine. To do so, you would have to create a macro for each wall and the room and identify which goes with what. You might as well do the cal manually.

Short answer --- Nope and AFAIK -- there are no plans to add this capability.
    Gerry

NewCraft Home Services

Design/ Compliance Review
    PE, X6 , Sketchup 8, TurboCad Pro 20
    -----------------------------------
    ASUS P9X79D, i7-3820, GTX680 w/4gb
    -----------------------------
    If the Government would just cut down more d*** trees, I'd have a much better view of the forest.

I think there might be a way. Apply a MATERIAL to each wall, (ie paint layer). Paint kitchen with material, KITCHEN PAINT, paint hallway with HALL PAINT, I am assuming these two materials will show in materials list and the area will also be included.
    D. Scott Hall (The Bridge Troll)
    San Diego, Ca.
    Chief X-5 w/ Win 7
    Asus P6T X58 ATX Core i7
    Intel Core i7 920
    6GB (3X2) DDR3 1600
    NVIDIA GeForce 580 GTX

The videos we watch are not 100% gold, but if we find a gold nugget, the time spent viewing has a value.

We can please some of the people some of the time, but we can't please all the people all of the time..... but I will keep trying.

If you are interested in keeping abreast of any new videos, please subscribe to my channel at YOUTUBE...... channel is ds hall