Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Smile Can anyone compare Chief Architect with REVIT LT

Hi. I am trying to decide between buying either Chief Architect full version or Revit LT. I am consdiering starting a small design/drafitng business out of my home.(I am a former architect--see below for more info.) I was all set on Chief, but noticed that Revit LT is now only $1195 including the autocad subscription that lets you do high powered rendering in the "cloud" (Not sure if I would even need this, however.) I am not sure which one to choose.

I like Chief, and am familiar with it and comfortable with it after playing around with the free trial (and for years I've owned a very early version of a CA non-professional home design software.) Any chance that CA might lower their prices to compete with REVIT, have a sale, or offer a rebate??? Are there any advantages to CA that would make the much higher price of CA worth the cost? I don't like some of the restrictions on CA Lite (like not being able to import manuf. catalogs for one. That would be very hard if I did kitchen remodeling.)I think I wouldn't be happy without the full version if I got CA. However, Revit LT sounds comparable to CA's Premier from looking at the features as shown on the company websites, but it is hard to tell as they dont' use the same terminology.(I'm not sure if REvit LT can import from manuf. catalogs, for instance.)