Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Can't use more than 8 light sources

I'm new to this software and I need some help...

The light sources appear to be inserting into the model, but it looks like to me that Chief cannot raytrace an image with more than a few light sources. If I add house lights, it ignores the sunlight and ambient light, etc. In the program preferences it says my video card has a max light count of 8.

I don’t really know the mechanics of how it works, sorry if what I said isn’t helpful.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? I need to create drawings with 16+ lights. Is this a video card issue, if so what card do I need as a starting point. I might want to buy a card that will last a while too.

Thanks

Joe

Quote Originally Posted by joesstlouis View Post
    I'm new to this software and I need some help...

The light sources appear to be inserting into the model, but it looks like to me that Chief cannot raytrace an image with more than a few light sources. If I add house lights, it ignores the sunlight and ambient light, etc. In the program preferences it says my video card has a max light count of 8.

I don’t really know the mechanics of how it works, sorry if what I said isn’t helpful.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? I need to create drawings with 16+ lights. Is this a video card issue, if so what card do I need as a starting point. I might want to buy a card that will last a while too.

Thanks

Joe
    Can not do it, 8 lights max.
    D. Scott Hall (The Bridge Troll)
    San Diego, Ca.
    Chief X-5 w/ Win 7
    Asus P6T X58 ATX Core i7
    Intel Core i7 920
    6GB (3X2) DDR3 1600
    NVIDIA GeForce 580 GTX

The videos we watch are not 100% gold, but if we find a gold nugget, the time spent viewing has a value.

We can please some of the people some of the time, but we can't please all the people all of the time..... but I will keep trying.