How to install lighting in eaves

I am a student as at Lanier tech. and we are trying to install down lights in an exterior soffit/eaves. We have tried looking in the reference manual and have not found any answers. The ligths follow the picth of the roof plane even though we have the boxed eave selection checked. Wer have tried building invisible walls ans creating a room , we have tried deleting the roof plane and placing the lights first, but the lights change to follow the roof picth when we rinstall the roof plane. We have tried other things and can still not get it to work. Please help. Thanks

Some of the ceiling lights do work for eaves too but not the recessed down lights. What I do is copy the recessed light from Chief's library to your Users library. Then open it (open symbol) and make it sit on the floor. Now you can place it and adjust it's height to fit the eaves and manually place it.
    Tommy Blair
    Houston, TX.
    (713) 467-0579
    tblair55@sbcglobal.net
    Avid Chief User V8-X5
    Lead Houston User's Group
    HP Dv7t Quad Edition Laptop
    W7 Home Premium, 64-Bit
    2nd Gen. Intel Quad Core i7-2720QM 2.2 GHz (turbo boost to 3.3 GHz)
    1GB Radeon HD 6770M GDDR5
    8GB DDR3 System Memory, 640GB 7200rpm Hard Drive
    (2) 2.0 ports, (2) 3.0 ports
    17.3" Monitor (1600x900)

You should be able to do this manually, what I have done to overcome the down-light following the slant of the roof is to also place a soffit (cabinet tools) in the eave (down lights are programmed to follow soffits by that I mean they are programmed to align with soffit objects by default).
    Some would call this a "work-round", I just call it getting my work done.

DJP

David Jefferson Potter

Chief Architect ® Trainer, Beta Tester, Draftsman, Author of "Basic Manual Roof Editing" and Problem Solver
    Win7 Ultimate x64 & XP Pro x32, 500 Gb Samsung SSD
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T, 8Gb DDR3 RAM, PNY 760 GTX

Chief 7-X6, Home Designer versions 7-2014