Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: exterior panels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Watsonville, CA.
    Posts
    54

    exterior panels

    Hi,
    I want to place exterior panels over a stucco . Say 4' horz x 2"vert and 2.25" thick. A band of paneling . What tool and how?
    Thanks,
    Chad

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lake Placid
    Posts
    2,313
    P'line solids. Tried 'em yet?
    Gene Davis
    SSA: X5 Premium, X4 Premium, X3, X2 (12.5.1.9), 10.08.b
    Intel i7 quad-core 64-bit HM65 express, Windows 7, 16 GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX560M - 3 GB GDDRS - SDRAM
    Google Sketchup 8.0
    DropBox cloud storage

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sandy Hook, CT
    Posts
    4,203
    Or Primitives will work too.
    Gary Doski
    3 D Homes Design Services LLC
    Certified Chief Architect X5 Trainer.
    Ver. X5, thru X1
    I train you on your jobs!
    Learn & get your work done at the same time!

    Building Official- CT
    203-270-0646 fax 203-304-2101
    garydoski531@gmail.com
    www.3dhomesdesign.com

    Windows 7 Ultimate-64bit
    i7 975 3.3 GHz 8 cores
    Corsairs 12Gb Ram
    Radeon ATI 9870x2 Crossfire 2Gb
    Ultra 1600 watt PS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Comox Valley, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,730
    If you are running a band around the entire building, and want to show the panel divisions, I would suggest using a molding poline, and specifying a material that has a clear division already in it. Then adjust the mapping size of the texture so that the horizontal divisions are at 48" intervals.
    Rod Kervin
    Kervin Home Design
    Courtenay BC
    p. 250-871-0316

    If a picture is worth a thousand words, and a video is worth a thousand pictures, then uploading the chief file is worth a thousand videos.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Watsonville, CA.
    Posts
    54
    Thanks You All,
    Chad

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bayport, NY
    Posts
    303
    Do you have the New England Classic Panels library? I use them all the time for exterior panels. They can be fully customized too.
    Rich C. SDSInc
    Bayport, NY

    X5
    Windows 7 64
    Alienware 17" Laptop - full time use - 14GB
    i7 3720QM
    Nvidia GTX 675M - 2GB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Can you show example of using New England panels?
    Last edited by mauryjones; 03-20-2012 at 07:23 PM. Reason: wrong description
    Maury Jones
    Bradford&Kent Builders
    X4 Premium, Chief 10
    Windows 7 Pro
    Dell Latitude E6520
    64-bit OS

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bayport, NY
    Posts
    303
    The panels here are all New England Classic. Center panels changed to flat framed panels with beadboard material. I usually remove the top molding profile and change the stile dimensions to 3 1/2" as well.

    NEC Panels (in chief) are basically just cabinet doors. If you know how to customize cabinets you can breeze right through this instead of doing face applied pline solids or moulding profiles to create the panels which are then static and more difficult to change.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	roots southeast corner dec 30.jpg 
Views:	67 
Size:	77.0 KB 
ID:	51966  
    Rich C. SDSInc
    Bayport, NY

    X5
    Windows 7 64
    Alienware 17" Laptop - full time use - 14GB
    i7 3720QM
    Nvidia GTX 675M - 2GB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Rich for sharing. Nice home.
    Maury Jones
    Bradford&Kent Builders
    X4 Premium, Chief 10
    Windows 7 Pro
    Dell Latitude E6520
    64-bit OS

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • Login or Register to post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •