Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Design vs. engineering question

I'm assuming most of you guys are either designers, or builders (not architects or engineers or you would be using AutoDesk products). I'm a builder who is just getting into design work. I've been building off plans drawn on "napkins" or plans drawn by others for years now. I'm happy to say I'm changing that.

My question is, where do you draw the line between design and engineering?

I plan on pricing any necessary engineering as an allowance item, but I want to be fair with where I draw the line. Should I draw up foundation details, wall details etc. during the design process, or should this be something I let the engineer do? What about framing details?

I just think most details neither my subs nor myself need to see on plans. Its only local codes that require those details and ask for an engineers stamp, so in my mind I should only need to draw up the basics.

Any input as to how the rest of you handle this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    Michael

Chief Architect X3-X6
    Windows 7
    I5 Quad core 8 GB
    NVIDEA Ge Force GT430

Living in an earthquake-prone area, the contempt you seem to have for proper engineering -- only if the local code requires it -- is frankly surprising and disturbing. You seem to have a very short memory regarding the destruction. Try: http://goo.gl/3LwOH to refresh your memory.
    Richard
    ---------------
    Richard Morrison
    Architect-Interior Designer
    X6 Premier, Win8 64
    http://www.richardmorrison.com

Richard,

I don't have contempt for it. It doesn't really bother me too much (although as much framing as I've done over the years I think I have a pretty good idea of whats required without engineering stamps). I just want to charge properly for the engineering portion.