Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Dept of Sneaky Tricks

I'm proposing we all add our various unpublished and not-obvious tricks to this thread.

Please title your individual post with your tip. (The Go Advanced button at the bottom will let you do this).

I won't do the word to rich text thing - let somebody who found it do it - but that's exactly the kind of thing I'm picturing. I'll do my sneaky use of the room finish schedule to obtain an area schedule later when I have time to do it properly.

And PLEASE - the intent of this thread is to collect useful stuff that people can cruise through easily. If something here spurs other thoughts, please start a new thread rather than have this one go all off topic.
    Last edited by WendyWelton; 01-30-2009 at 05:34 AM.
    Wendy Lee Welton
    Lic: NH, ME, NY, MA, NCARB

603-431-9559

www.artformarchitecture.com
    www.artformhomeplans.com

I wrote code in 1984 to make my Sinclair 100 - so I used to be a programmer! So I can say with authority how easy it is to program Chief features! ;-)

Area Schedule

I'll edit this later to elaborate more, but here's a start:

Start with a Room Finish Schedule

• You can edit the title, make it say "Areas Under Roof" or "Heated Areas" - whatever you want
    • The areas columns total
    • You can do floor by floor or "all floors"
    • You can now add manual room names via the Room dbx. That means you can do something sneaky, like make all the rooms in the existing house "Study" or "Office" as the room type, then name them whatever is appropriate. Then.....
    • The Room Finish Schedule let's you choose exactly which room types. So let's assume you make the existing all "Office" room types. You just uncheck "Office" on the schedule and voila - a schedule that shows only your new room types.

Because Chief calculates Standard Room Area to the centerlines of walls, I put a note below that says

KEY
    STD. AREA (SQ FT) - Area calculated to the centerlines of walls.