Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: how to build?

how to build?

Any architect types out there have an idea on where to look for various methods of accomplishing the construction of decks like this? It would be great to be able to do them out of cast concrete but I have no idea where to go for information on that. I've found a lot of dead ends on the internet. If anyone knows, I'd appreciate the guidance. Tom

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	entranceview2.JPG 
Views:	534 
Size:	92.6 KB 
ID:	14719

Name:	frontview2.JPG 
Views:	477 
Size:	106.3 KB 
ID:	14720

Name:	sideview2.JPG 
Views:	441 
Size:	84.2 KB 
ID:	14721

You'll need a structural engineer to design the support for a deck like that.
    Wendy Lee Welton
    Lic: NH, ME, NY, MA, NCARB

603-431-9559

www.artformarchitecture.com
    www.artformhomeplans.com

I wrote code in 1984 to make my Sinclair 100 - so I used to be a programmer! So I can say with authority how easy it is to program Chief features! ;-)

Yes, I realize that but I thought I'd draw it like I want it and get the engineer to match things as close as he can. I'm really trying to get thin decks. If I can read up on the possiblities I can present that information to my structural engineer. I like the guy a lot but he's not the most creative person in the world so I'm guessing I'll have to look into the options.

Not perfect as it is precast, but might give you a lead or some other ideas. The vendors vary locally, but here are a couple in the upper midwest. They can do some degree of engineering and have span tables on their sites.

http://www.spancrete.com/
    http://www.molin.com/

I'd be real leery of that cantilevered section. Just ask these folks:

http://www.paconserve.org/fw-building.asp
    Try the very bottom of the page...
    - Dave
    X1 11.5
    X3
    X4