Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

scaling drawings

I am in the final stages of my design work and my architect needs 1/4 scale drawings. Since I already drew the plans with Home Designer Deluxe 7.0, what's the easiest way to make them 1/4 scale so I can export them to .dxf files for him? I really don't want to have to draw them all over again. Couldn't I just enlarge the magnification on the screen, or will that not actually change the scale?

Thanks...
    jeff

Believe it or not, the correct answer is that you don't! If your architect is going to use the dxf file and import it into any cad program, you should simply export to dxf and send that to your architect. If they're using cad (any cad, any program) and tell you anything otherwise, they really don't know to use it correctly.
    Wendy Lee Welton
    Lic: NH, ME, NY, MA, NCARB

603-431-9559

www.artformarchitecture.com
    www.artformhomeplans.com

I wrote code in 1984 to make my Sinclair 100 - so I used to be a programmer! So I can say with authority how easy it is to program Chief features! ;-)

Well, he's agreed to let me do as much of the work as I can to save money. He told me that he needed me to provide him with a set of plans drawn to 1/4 scale. The printed plans we went over together were on 8.5x11" paper which came out to about 1/8 scale or something. I don't mind printing them at FedExKinkos, if that's even possible, but I need to make sure I'm printing 1/4 scale drawings.

When I print them at home on 8.5x11, I adjust the magnification on the screen so the entire floor plan fits on the screen, then I "Print Image". That function apparently prints whatever I'm seeing on the screen. If I want to print a huge version, I would guess that I'd have to magnify it quite a bit, then save it to a JPEG and take it to FedExKinkos?