Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Dutch Hip help please...

Anyone out there have an idea on how to build a dutch hip? I am a building a duplex with a dutch hip around the entire first floor that attaches above the rim joist on the second floor.

Attached is a picture of the duplex. I was able to build the roof over the garage and the second floor. Now I am just trying to figure out how to build the dutch hip.

note there is a porch at the entrance that I would like to build a small hip roof on as well.

Any help would be much appreciated...

Ryezak

Vancouver Island canada
    Attached Files Attached Files

Allen Colburn Jr.
    Pascoag RI 02859
    Residential Design Drafting/Framer

Drafter for:
    http://www.artformhomeplans.com/

Chief Architect X4

Yeah I read through that article but found it quite complicated. I am new to CA as you probably have noticed. The example in that link is a little different that the one on my duplex. I will need to manually make a roof over a porch? not sure how to approach this. then join the dutch hip to the front of the building roof over the garage.

any tips would be appreciated.

Better pictures would help.I have no idea what your trying to get from the one you have..

Allen Colburn Jr.
    Pascoag RI 02859

Drafter for:

Chief Architect X4

A Dutch hip is also known as a clipped gable. The hip roof return has a high fascia on the gable end.

If you aren't too adept with manual roof work...try an auto build on the roof. All of Chief's roof lines will be hipped by default.

Drag one of the hipped sections over the desired gable end....and then pull the fascia inwards.... towards the building. Lastly...use the "join roof tool" to *snap* the hips back together.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dutch hip.jpg 
Views:	308 
Size:	74.7 KB 
ID:	7630