Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Dimensioning to 1/8" Accuracy?

I am curious if I am in the minority when I do not use the 1/8" accuracy option for dimensioning?

I do not like the way CA has set up the 1/8" accuracy settings to "drop" the lower half of the fractions. (ie 1/8" = 1, 1/4" = 2, 3/4" = 6). This concerns me as I feel that at a quick glance a "3" might be read as 3 inches and not 3/8 inches.

So now I must use the even less forgiving 1/16" accuracy setting and be forced to see and fight with wonderfull dimensions like 15/16" or 9/16" . If these aren't fixed before going out for permit it can be imbarrassing and a pain. I can't here the builder in the field... "what the %@#*^& is the architect trying to do to me? 1/8" are bad enough!".

Dave

How could accurately dimensioned plans be embarrassing??? As a builder I have no trouble with 1/16" acccuracies, I would much rather see that than made up dimensions that do not total correctly...then you might very well hear somebody when mechanicals or structural don't align because they measured from the opposite side as the madeup dimensions were laid out...now that would be

set up your grid snap to a level of accuracy you want...then use it...but if you use real world dimensions and sizes...a half of an eighth..might just show up somewhere

Arghh! Tim, you make me laugh!

On another note, will you make it this year to the User's Group?
    Adam Gibson, CKD, CBD
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Chief X6

Tim,

Thanks for the reply and especially the spelling corrections.

Dave

Perhaps my main point of starting this thread was not clearly stated as I rambled on afterwards.

1) Are YOU using the 1/8” accuracy setting? (YES/NO)

2) If not is it due to:
    a) its automatic dropping of lower half of the fraction
    b) the precision of 1/16” is generally more preferred
    c) other __________________________________.

b)
    Adam Gibson, CKD, CBD
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Chief X6